Call for Submissions: 2024 Emerging Digital Artists Award

2024 EDAA Call for Submissions

Deadline: August 5, 2024, 11:59 pm EDT
Apply here >

EQ Bank is pleased to launch the 10th edition of the Emerging Digital Artists Award, Canada’s award for critical experimentation in digital media, accepting submissions now through August 5, 2024. To mark this momentous occasion, the 2024 award features a range of exciting prizes and, for the first time ever, five distinct award categories, each valued at $5,000!

The 2024 award includes:

This year’s award also features a new digital series by Diana Lynn VanderMeulen and an impressive lineup of guest judges from the national and international arts communities.

Award recipients Jasmine Liaw, Sophia Oppel, Bomi Yook, Santiago Tamayo Soler, and Melissa Johns with guest judges Ekrem Serdar, Shaheer Zazai, and Dallas Fellini at the 2023 EDAA exhibition and ceremony at Trinity Square Video. Photo: Darren Rigo.

Artists within the first eight years of their professional careers are encouraged to apply. We welcome submissions of screen-based works that are not only created with digital technologies, but also speak to the concerns, ethics, and constructs of virtual space and their production. Submissions should be made to one of five categories:

Still Image
A still work created through digital processes such as generative imagery, scanning technology, photo manipulation, illustration graphics, or renders of 3D models or virtual worlds.

Moving Image
A time-based 2D work using digital processes in its creation, including but not limited to video, animation, machinima, and GIF art.

2D Interactive
An interactive artwork experienced on a computer, tablet, or mobile phone such as game art, web art, as well as generative simulations that do not require direct user input.

Extended Reality (XR)
A virtual, augmented, or mixed reality work experienced through a smartphone, tablet, or headset, or as a 360-degree video.

3D Installation
A multi-component work produced and presented with digital technologies that engages audiences in physical space and combines moving image, sound, interactivity, and/or movement.

Installation view of the 2021 EDAA Exhibition at Trinity Square Video. Photo: Darren Rigo

To submit your work for consideration, follow these steps:

  • Read full details on How to Apply, including the Terms and Conditions
  • When ready, fill out the online application with your artwork submission along with a 200-word statement, a short artist biography, and artist CV

Deadline for Applications: Monday, August 5, 2024, by 11:59 pm EDT.

Questions about the EDAA can be sent to
For the latest information about the 2024 prize, follow us on Instagram: @edaa_eqb

About the Emerging Digital Artists Award
The Emerging Digital Artists Award is Canada’s major award for critical experimentation in digital media, proudly presented by EQ Bank. Since launching in 2015, the EDAA has awarded over $150,000 to 55 artists and celebrated a range of screen-based practices including video, animation, virtual reality, game art, and web art.

About EQ Bank
EQ Bank is the digital banking platform launched in 2016 by Equitable Bank, Canada’s Challenger Bank™. As a future-ready financial institution, fostering innovation is at the heart of everything we do. We firmly believe in the benefits of open banking and continue to invest in technology to serve the changing financial needs of Canadians.

Top Image: Diana Lynn VanderMeulen, A Boundless and Radiant Aura, 2024