Call for Nominations: 2023 Kenojuak Ashevak Memorial Award

Kenojuak Ashevak, Preening Owl (1995) Printer Arnaqu Ashevak, Stonecut 49.5 x 73.7 cm. Reproduced With Permission Dorset Fine Arts © The Artist.

Kenojuak Ashevak Memorial Award
Now accepting nominations for the 2023 Kenojuak Ashevak Memorial Award (KAMA)

ᕿᓐᓄᐊᔪᐊᖅ ᐋᓯᕙᒃ ᐃᖅᑲᐅᒪᔭᐅᓂᖓᓄᑦ ᑐᓐᓂᖅᑯᓯᐊᖅ
ᒫᓐᓇ ᓂᕈᐊᒐᒃᓴᙳᖅᑎᑕᐅᔪᓂᒃ ᐱᑎᑕᐅᔪᓐᓇᖅᓯᕗᑦ 2023−ᒥ ᕿᓐᓄᐊᔪᐊᖅ ᐋᓯᕙᒃ ᐃᖅᑲᐅᒪᔭᐅᓂᖓᓄᑦ ᑐᓐᓂᖅᑯᓯᐊᕐᓂᐊᖅᑐᓄᑦ

Qinnuajuaq Aasivak Iqqaumajauninganut Tunniqqusiaq
Maanna niruagaksannguqtitaujunik pititaujunnaqsivut 2023−mi Qinnuajuaq Aasivak Iqqaumajauninganut Tunniqqusiarniaqtunut

About the Award
The Kenojuak Ashevak Memorial Award (KAMA) is a biennial prize that supports the practice of an Inuk artist by facilitating opportunities for artistic development and career growth. Established in 2014 by generous members of the Inuit art community, this award honours the life and work of the late Kenojuak Ashevak, and her unparalleled contributions to the cultural life and arts of Inuit Nunangat and beyond.

An exceptional artist, pioneer, role model and leader in her field, Ashevak spoke often about the importance of encouraging future generations of Inuit artists. To honour this desire, KAMA provides funding to artists to expand their careers and reach new audiences.

Thanks to a partnership with Winnipeg Art Gallery-Qaumajuq, announced in 2021, the winner now receives opportunities for research, creation and exhibition at their institution. Beginning in 2023, thanks to the generous support of RBC Emerging Artists, the award now includes additional opportunities for ten artists to expand their practice.

A longlist of ten artists will receive:

  • NEW: A cash prize of $2,500 each; and
  • NEW: A feature in a dedicated catalogue, to be distributed with the Inuit Art Quarterly

A shortlist of five artists will receive:

  • NEW: A cash prize of $5,000 each; and
  • NEW: A group exhibition at WAG-Qaumajuq 2023.

The winner will receive:

  • INCREASED: A cash prize of $20,000
  • A fully funded creative residency at WAG-Qaumajuq in 2024; and
  • A solo exhibition with accompanying catalogue and acquisition in partnership with WAG-Qaumajuq in fall 2025

Deadline: Thursday, December 1 2022 @ Midnight EST

How to Apply
Nominations will be accepted by email, fax, mail and via oral submission in English or Inuktut. All necessary translations will be provided by the IAF. See the nomination form for additional details.

Please note that only one nomination per artist will be accepted.

Visit our website to download the Nomination Form

The IAF strongly encourages nominations from professional acquaintances including curators, gallerists, writers, critics, fellow artists and others in relevant fields, in support of an Inuit artist’s practice. Individual artists are invited to self-nominate if they wish to do so. All KAMA applications will be assessed by an all-Inuit external committee of arts professionals.

This award is open to Inuit artists in Canada who are actively working. Nominations can be made by the artist or another arts professional. See the nomination form for full eligibility details.

For more information and assistance please contact:

For inquiries in English:
Kyle Aleekuk
Program Officer
647.498.7717 ext. 115

For Inquiries in Inuktut:
Blandina Makkik
Igloo Tag Co-ordinator
647.498.7717 ext. 109

Follow the IAF:
Facebook @inuitartfoundation
Instagram @inuitartfoundation
Twitter @InuitArtFdn