Call for Applications: 2023 Emerging Digital Artists Award (EDAA)

Driftnote, Monotypic, 2023

The Call for Applications is now open for the 2023 Emerging Digital Artists Award (EDAA). The EDAA is Canada’s major award for critical experimentation in digital media, co-presented by EQ Bank and Trinity Square Video. Established in 2015, the annual prize recognizes and celebrates digital artists working actively and creatively in the field.

The 2023 award features a roster of national and international guest judges, a new digital series by Driftnote, and a prize structure that recognizes five emerging artists for their exceptional digital works, including:

  • Five $5,000 prizes
  • A one-year Production Membership to Trinity Square Video
  • Participation in a group exhibition at Trinity Square Video, September 9-October 6, 2023; and
  • A chance at a dedicated spot in Trinity Square Video’s 2024 Themed Commission residency program

Installation view of the 2022 EDAA Exhibition at Trinity Square Video. Image: Darren Rigo

Artists within the first five years of their professional careers are encouraged to apply. We welcome submissions of screen-based works that are not only created with digital technologies, but also speak to the concerns, ethics, and constructs of virtual space and their production. Artwork submissions may include, but are not limited to still images, videos, animations, GIFs, websites, games, applications, and immersive technologies.

To submit your work for consideration, follow these steps:

Deadline for Applications: Thursday, June 15, 2023, by 11:59 pm EDT.

Questions about the EDAA can be sent to Don’t forget to follow us on social media for updates and the latest information about the 2023 prize!

Instagram: @edaa_eqb
Twitter: @edaa_eqb