Standing Up for Ontario’s Old Growth Forest

Infusion/Transfusion, Frances Patella and Dominique Prévost

Standing Up for Ontario’s Old Growth Forest: From Forest to Exhibition

October 2, 2022, 1 to 4 pm.
Presentations: 2 pm.
Book Signing of Breath. Heart. Spirit. The OSA 150 Years
Arts and Letters Club, 14 Elm Street, Toronto.

The Ontario Society of Artists celebrates 150 years. The Exhibition emphasizes the importance of forests and their impact on global warming.

Standing Up for Ontario’s Old Growth Forest is part of a Project celebrating the 150th Year of the Ontario Society of Artists. The Project with its concern for global warming has become a rebirth of the conservation/preservation role of the OSA as seen in its contribution to the creation of Killarney Park. A botanical expert has said that if every person on the planet could plant one tree, global warming would no longer be a problem. This statement influenced the development of the Project.

Sixteen artists traveled to Temagami and Kirkland Lake. The Old Growth Forest was the inspiration for installations, drawing, sculpting, painting, performing, and photographing. In addition to creating art pieces, there were educational tours and contributing speakers about the landscape, the important role of trees in the environment, and Indigenous Peoples contributions to the well-being of the forests.

After each artist returned to his or her studio, the studio work began of making the art pieces to be exhibited at the Arts and Letters Club, 14 Elm Street, Toronto. For the exhibition, It was decided to create the feel of working in the forest by including the preparatory work done on-site in the forest.

The artists are:
Kim Atkins / www.thepords.ca
Josy Britton / www.josybritton.com
Heidi Burkhardt / www.heidiburkhardt.com
Gill Cameron / www.gillcameron.com
Sharron Corrigan Forrest / www.sharronforrest.com
Peter Dušek / www.peterdusek.com
Cesar Forero / www.cesarforero.com
Marina Hanacek / www.marinaart.org
Janet Hendershot / www.jhendershotstudios.com
Lisa Murzin / www.lisamurzinphotography.com
Frances Patella / www.francespatella.com
Dominique Prévost / www.dominiqueprevost.ca
Clare Ross / www.clareross.ca
Barb Simmons / www.barbarasimmonsart.com
Quan Steele / www.quansteele.ca
Dermot Wilson / www.stevewilsonstudios.com

The exhibition is on view October 2, 1 to 4 pm.

Arts and Letters Club
14 Elm Street, 3rd Floor
Toronto, ON
M5G 1G7

Janet Hendershot
Chair and Curator of Standing Up for Ontario’s Old Growth Forest
ontariosocietyofartists.org
Contact us