Call for Submissions: 2024 Winifred Shantz Award for Ceramics

2024 Winifred Shantz Award for Ceramics
Call for Submissions

Deadline: Received electronically by Sunday, January 21, 2024 at 11:59pm EST.

The Winifred Shantz Award for Ceramics is a national $10,000 award for emerging ceramic artists. Thanks to the ongoing partnership between The Keith and Winifred Shantz Fund for the Arts, held at Waterloo Region Community Foundation, and the Canadian Clay & Glass Gallery, this award is presented annually to a practising emerging artist who has worked professionally for five to ten years as of the deadline date. Professional practice typically begins upon completion of a college or bachelor’s degree in ceramics. If alternate circumstances apply, demonstrate how you identify as an emerging artist in the cover letter portion of the application. The Award is intended to allow the artist to undertake a period of independent research or other activities with the goal of advancing their artistic and professional practice.

The winner of the Winifred Shantz Award for Ceramics will receive $10,000. One runner-up will receive a prize of $5,000. Up to 3 finalists will also be selected who will each receive a prize of $1,000. The winner, runner-up, and finalists will have their work featured in a group exhibition at the Canadian Clay & Glass Gallery alongside the winner and finalists of the RBC Award for Glass from May 2024 to September 2024. Prizes are inclusive of CARFAC exhibition fees. The Award will be presented at the opening reception, held at the Gallery in Waterloo on Sunday, June 2, 2024, at 2:00pm. Transportation and accommodation will be provided to the winner, as required. To be eligible for the Award, applicants must be available to attend the reception on June 2 and be prepared to make a brief artist talk should they win the award. The winner and finalists will be notified in early March.

Amy Duval, 2022 Winner of the Winifred Shantz Award for Ceramics, Fabricate/Translate, Ceramic, mesh, paper, paint. 4.25 x 3m. Collection of the artist.

All of the Winifred Shantz Award winners to date have contributed to the uniquely Canadian contemporary ceramic art scene including Amy Duval (2023), Matthew O’Reilly (2022), Jocelyn Reid (2021), and Joon Hee Kim (2020).

For our full application guidelines and to submit your application, click here.


For additional information contact Peter Flannery, Curator & Collections Manager, at 519-746-1882 ext. 235 or

About the Canadian Clay & Glass Gallery

The Canadian Clay & Glass Gallery is an award-winning, national institution based in Waterloo Region celebrating the art and craft of clay, glass, and enamel. As a dynamic cultural organization, we continue to amplify diverse stories — opening dialogue and inspiring social change. Through exhibitions that address issues relevant to our times, an impressive selection of works in our Gallery Shop, and intriguing public programs that engage, educate, and excite — we are accessible to all. For more information, visit:

Follow us!
Twitter: @CdnClayandGlass
Instagram: @CdnClayandGlass
Facebook: @theclayandglass
YouTube: @TheClayAndGlass

Canadian Clay & Glass Gallery
25 Caroline Street North
Waterloo, Ontario N2L 2Y5