25 Years of The Sweetest Little Thing

All images are details from larger works. Top row (left to right): John Murchie, Sackville #63 (Red Painting), 2024; Tonia Di Risio, Cherry Tart, 2023; Anna Torma, Untitled, 2021. Bottom row (left to right): Emma Hassencahl-Perley, i love you so ducking much, 2023; Erik Edson, tag, 2024; D’Arcy Wilson, Burble, 2023.

The Owens Art Gallery and Struts Gallery present:

The Sweetest Little Thing 2024
Fundraising Art Auction

Celebrate art and community at the 25th annual Sweetest Little Thing! Start bidding today on artworks donated by artists from across the country and beyond!

Live event: Valentine’s Day
Wednesday, February 14, 2024 @ 7:00 PM
Owens Art Gallery
Sackville, New Brunswick
Pay-What-You-Can Admission | Masks Encouraged

Artworks from: Bruce A Barber, Gisele Amantea, Lily Beamish, Ranz Bontogon, Roch Bourque, Shary Boyle, Chris Boyne, Katie Marie Bruce, Talysha Bujold-Abu, Annabel Carnero, Margaret Ann Capper, Magali Charron and Jon Claytor, Snack Witch Joni Cheung, Melanie Colosimo, Clara Congdon, Kaeli Cook, Gabrielle Cormier, Georgia Dawkin, Andrea deBruijn, Isabelle Devos, Tonia Di Risio, Linda Rae Dornan, Dave Dyment, Jonah Dysart, Erik Edson, Michael Fernandes, Jen Frail, Caitlin Gallant, Leah Garnett, Dawn George, Greta Grip, Krista Gunn, John Haney, Emma Hassencahl-Perley, Ashley Hemmings, Paul Henderson, Louise Hicks, Thaddeus Holownia, Sarah Houle, Tobi Huston, Daze Jefferies, Emma Jones, Anne Koval, Adriana Kuiper, Alexandre Larose, Kamaya Lindquist, Susan Lindsay, Ella MacKay, Andrew Maize, Deborah Margo, Elijah Marr, Autumn Martin, Kevin Melanson, Maya Mengual, Lucas Morneau, Alana Morouney, Mitch Morris, Melissa Morris, John Murchie, Sharon Norwood, Oz [B.G-Osborne], Nasya Owens, Sharon Owttrim-Fraser, Roula Partheniou, Graeme Patterson, Bronwen Ramsey-Brimberg, Donna Rawlins Sharpe, Kerri Reid, Elia Robinson, Simone Schmidt, Yvonne Singer, Riley Small, Suzie Smith, Dan Steeves, Connor Sturge, Karen Stentaford, Teagan Stewart, Ryan Suter, Angela Thibodeau, Anna Torma, Karen Trask, Stuart Trenholm, Elizabeth Vanderleelie, Indu Varma, Susie Vokey, Jaden Ward, Ella Webber, Tara K. Wells, Rhonda Weppler and Trevor Mahovsky, Rebecca Whiteway, Stephen Williams, D’Arcy Wilson, Janice Wright Cheney, Istvan Zsako, and more!

The Sweetest Little Thing is the most important annual fundraising event for the Owens Art Gallery and Struts Gallery. Every dollar raised goes directly to support programming at both galleries. At the heart of SLT is a silent auction featuring artworks donated by local, regional, and national artists. Emceed by Quinn Waylaing and Tori Weldon, this year’s event will feature karaoke with Graeme Patterson, a scavenger hunt, a raffle for an epic cake donated by Cranewood on Main Bakery and Café, and other fabulous prize packs… plus a few other surprises! Gather in your fanciest dress, snap a photo at the Instant Lovin’ Photo Booth, and get ready to partake in some dancing! Masks are encouraged. Extra-special pink, magenta, and red KN95 masks will be available for free in both child and adult sizes. This event is made possible thanks to the generosity of local, national, and internationally recognized artists who have established connections with our galleries and who are part of our community.

This year, bidding will take place entirely online, ending on Wednesday, February 14 at 10:00 pm AST. Artworks will be available to preview in-person beginning February 8 at the Owens.

2024 The Sweetest Little Thing graphics designed by Kaya Panthier

As you look forward to seeing your Sackville friends, take a moment to listen to the 2024 Sweetest Little Thing Jingle, written this year by Sackville folk trio sweethearts Blue Horse (Julia Feltham, Gaelen Olinski, and Steve Haley), and relive The Sweetest Little Thing memories of years gone by through the video scrapbook.

Follow us on social media for behind-the-scenes access, live event updates, and to share The Sweetest Little Thing love from near or far.

We would like to acknowledge that the Owens Art Gallery, Mount Allison University, and Struts Gallery are located within the traditional territory of Mi’kma’ki, the unceded ancestral homelands of the Mi’kmaq. Our relationship and our privilege to live on this territory was agreed upon in the Peace and Friendship Treaties of 1725 to 1752. Because of this treaty relationship, it is to be acknowledged that we are all Treaty People and have a responsibility to respect this territory.

Struts Gallery
7 Lorne Street, Sackville, NB, E4L 3Z6 • 506-536-1211

Owens Art Gallery
Mount Allison University
61 York Street Sackville, NB, E4L 1E1 • 506-364-2574

Monday to Friday, 10:00 am to 5:00 pm
Saturday and Sunday, 1:00 pm to 5:00 pm
Admission is Free

The Owens is partially accessible. The stairs from the entrance nearest the University Chapel have a handrail. There is also ramp access at this entrance, however, the ramp is steep. The stairs to the entrance off York Street have a handrail, but no ramp, and are covered with temporary wood treads. The main floor of the Owens is wheelchair accessible. Our second-floor gallery and gendered bathrooms are located in the basement and are not accessible. Two flights of stairs lead to each of these floors. LED lights are used throughout the building. The Owens welcomes guide dogs and other service animals. The closest accessible parking spaces are located on York Street across from the Owens. For detailed information on venue access, please visit our Accessibility page.

If you have any questions about your visit, please email owens@mta.ca or call (506) 364-2574.