Longlist Announced for the 2019 Sobey Art Award

2019 longlist revealed for Sobey Art Award, Canada’s richest cultural prize

  • Twenty-five of Canada’s most promising young visual artists have been selected
  • The program represents a total commitment of more than $650,000 CAD annually to support Canadian contemporary artists
  • Each of the longlisted artists receive $2,000 CAD and is in the running for an international residency

Ottawa, April 16, 2019 – The Sobey Art Foundation and the National Gallery of Canada announced today the longlist of nominees for the 2019 Sobey Art Award, Canada’s preeminent contemporary art award. The 25 most promising young Canadian visual artists, nominated by leaders in arts communities from coast to coast to coast, will contend for the $100,000 CAD grand prize.

Established in 2002, the Sobey Art Award represents unprecedented opportunities for today’s Canadian artists, while raising the visibility of Canadian contemporary art here and abroad. The top prize of $100,000 CAD is awarded to the winner, $25,000 CAD is given to each of the four shortlisted artists, and $2,000 CAD is presented to each of the twenty longlisted artists.

In addition to monetary awards, three amongst the 25 artists will be selected by the Sobey Art Award jury to participate in the Sobey Art Award Residencies Program (SAARP), an international residency program ranging from three to six months. Finally, one shortlisted artist will be selected by Fogo Island Arts to attend an annual residency.

Rob Sobey, Chair of the Sobey Art Foundation, notes: “I am thrilled by the caliber of the artists selected by the jury for this year’s longlist. The diversity of backgrounds gets more exciting every year. We are delighted to see several never-before nominated artists and are excited to learn who from Canada will participate this year in the SAARP in Berlin, London and New York. We are grateful that their work will help Canadians, as well as people around the world, to become better aware of the richness and vibrancy of contemporary Canadian art.”

The 2019 jury panel has selected the following 25 artists:

Philippa Jones
Eleanor King
Logan MacDonald
Ericka Walker
D’Arcy Wilson

Marie-Michelle Deschamps
Nicolas Grenier
Caroline Monnet
Celia Perrin Sidarous
Sabrina Ratté

Stephanie Comilang
Patrick Cruz
Brendan Fernandes
Laurie Kang
Erdem Taşdelen

Alana Bartol
Catherine Blackburn
Curtis Talwst Santiago
The Ephemerals

Andrew Dadson
Rochelle Goldberg
Gabrielle L’Hirondelle Hill
Anne Low
Carmen Papalia

The longlisted artists gain valuable exposure to leading art professionals in Canada and abroad, as their portfolios are reviewed and judged by the jury, chaired by National Gallery of Canada’s Senior Curator of Contemporary Art, Josée Drouin-Brisebois. The 2019 jury is composed of Peter Dykhuis, Director/Curator, Dalhousie Art Gallery, for the Atlantic Provinces; Jo-Ann Kane, Curator, National Bank Collection, for the Quebec region; Swapnaa Tamhane, Independent Curator, Artist, and Writer, for the Ontario region; Lindsey Sharman, Curator, Art Gallery of Alberta, for the Prairies and the North region; Nigel Prince, Executive Director, Contemporary Art Gallery, for the West Coast and Yukon; and international juror, Henriette Bretton-Meyer, Curator, Kunsthal Charlottenborg, Copenhagen, Denmark.

“I am so proud of the 2019 Sobey Art Award jury for its work on a compelling and provocative longlist of Canadian artists,” said Drouin-Brisebois. “This year’s list is certain to stimulate curiosity and debate. Through its international residency program, exhibition of the finalists, and its cash prizes, the SAA has an invigorating impact on the artists recognized by the jury for their innovation and creativity. The National Gallery is looking forward to partnering with the Art Gallery of Alberta to bring an inspiring exhibition for our first time to this part of the country.”

The five shortlisted artists will be announced June 12 and the international residencies recipients will be revealed on September 18. The Sobey Art Award finalists exhibition will be on view from October 5, 2019 to January 5, 2020 at the Art Gallery of Alberta in Edmonton. The grand prize winner of the 2019 Sobey Art Award will be announced at a gala hosted by the Art Gallery of Alberta on November 15, 2019. The Fogo Island Arts residency winner will be announced in the weeks following the gala.

For more information, please click on the following hyperlinks:

— 30 —

For all media enquiries, please contact:

Sobey Art Foundation
Bernard Doucet
T + 1.902.752 8371 ext. 2301
C + 1.902.921.1755

National Gallery of Canada
Genevieve Menard
Media Relations Manager
T + 1.613.990.1654

Rebecca Chuang
Pickles PR
T + 33 7 83 73 39 37