Call for Submissions: 2020 Carmichael Canadian Landscape Exhibition: Tradition Transformed


Margit Kovisto, Room With A View, 2019 Juror’s Prize recipient

Carmichael Canadian Landscape Exhibition:
Tradition Transformed

Orillia Museum of Art & History

October 2, 2020 – January 17, 2021
Reception: October 3 | 1-3pm

Submission Deadline: August 31, 2020
Jury Results: 2nd week of September

Angela Brayham, Executive Director, Gallery Stratford
Sadko Hadzihasanovic, artist and instructor, School of Design and Visual Arts, Georgian College

The Carmichael Canadian Landscape Exhibition: Tradition Transformed was created in recognition of Group of Seven member, Franklin Carmichael, who was born in Orillia. Now in its 19th year, this juried show calls on artists from across the country to submit work that embraces, challenges, comments, critiques, echoes, challenges, re-works or strengthens images, perceptions and interpretations of Canadian landscape through the artist’s chosen medium. Heavily rooted in Carmichael’s beliefs on traditionalism and classical modes of artistic expression, Carmichael himself was very much invested in contemporary artistic styles having been inspired by his native Canadian surroundings.

All media/approaches are most welcome.

Entry fee: Artists can enter/apply up to 3 times with one work of art/one image for each entry. This year, there is no application fee to enter.

If successful at jury, a hanging fee of $35 (+HST) must be paid on or before hanging.

Juror’s Prize – $1500
Kevin J. Batchelor Emerging Artist Award – $1000
The Paul Quarrington Multidisciplinary Arts Award – $500

Submission Information:
Submissions are by email only.
Please send all submissions to
Submission info, including guidelines and form can be found on our website here.


2019 Carmichael Canadian Landscape Exhibition: Tradition Transformed opening reception

2019 Artists:
Patti Agapi
Jane Austin
Natalie Baker
Christopher Cape
Grace Dam
Deborah Danelley
Dianne Davis
Pat Dumas-Hudecki
Linda Finn
Midori Fullerton
Anita Granger
Sadko Hadzihasanovic
Sara Heinonen
John Hofstetter
Janet Houston
Margit Koivisto
Steven Laurie
Jessica Lin
Joanne Lomas
Mike Marcon
David McClyment
Gregory McCullough
Erin McGean
Monique Motut-Firth
Sonja Ng
Krista Pain
Janet Read
Ronald Regamey
Lori Ryerson
Bill Schwarz
Byron Sheldrick
Karin Silverstone
Patrick Steiber
Peter Stranks
Bill Schwarz
Barrie Szekely
Marten Visser
Drew Wallis
Janine Wheeler

For information/Media Contact: Ninette Gyorody, Executive Director
705 326–2159 x101 |


Orillia Museum of Art & History
30 Peter St. S.
Orillia, ON L3V 5A9

facebook | instagram

The Orillia Museum of Art & History (OMAH) is a hub of culture and heritage located down in the heart of Orillia’s Peter Street Arts District. From scientific specimens and photographs, to archives and oral histories, OMAH offers a wide range of research possibilities and interpretive programs complemented by a body of rich and engaging exhibitions. The clock tower of our Sir Samuel Steele Memorial Building is a beacon for our historical location.

The Orillia Museum of Art & History respectfully acknowledges our presence on the traditional territory of the Anishnaabeg. The Anishinaabeg include the Ojibwe, Odawa, and Pottawatomi nations, collectively known as the Three Fires Confederacy.

Museum hours: Monday to Saturday, 10 – 4pm | Sunday 1-4pm | Suggested Admission is $5.
The Orillia Museum of Art & History is fully accessible.